Tremont Farmer’s Market Review

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As promised, I hit up the Tremont Farmer’s Market tonight, along with my BFF and her kids.  The market is located at the west side of Lincoln Park, along W14th and runs Tuesdays, 4pm-7pm .  We arrived around 5pm and had no trouble finding parking around the perimeter of the park.  We were lucky to have a beautiful, sunny 75F degree afternoon.

The Tremont Farmer’s Market offers a varied mix of vendors selling locally grown produce, prepared foods such as cheese, tomato sauces and pierogies, non-food items like handmade accessories and skin products, and of course there were various Cleveland food trucks.  I’m sure I’ll be back later this summer to check out the food trucks at this market but for tonight, I was looking for something to grill.  (Did I mention that The Fella gave me a fancy new grill for my birthday last week?  Squee!)  It is still early in the growing season and that affected the selection of produce.  There were many vendors selling various lettuces and greens.  I picked up a bunch of garlic scapes from the Valley City Fungi stand.  I was thinking of picking up some oyster mushrooms as well but the vendor advised me that they don’t do very well on the grill.  I also bought hot Caribbean curry powder from Spice Hound, golden delicious apples from Morning Dew Orchards, goat feta from Lucky Penny Creamery , doz. fresh eggs from an Amish stand (can’t remember the name), and finally, I bought this amazing salad mix and I am mad at myself for forgetting the name of the vendor!

As you can see from the slidshow above, we combined most of my market purchases with a few items we already had (including a household favorite, Field Roast vegetarian sausage) to create a delicious dinner for about 460 calories.

Which farmer’s market should I hit up next?

Leave a Reply

