Savory Vegetable Kugel

A few months ago The Fella and I were visiting my Cousin and her family for dinner.  My Cousin served a vegetable and potato kugel as a side dish.  Unbelievably, I had never had kugel before.  I fell in L-O-V-E with this kugel.  My cousin was so nonchalant.  Kugel was nothing special, an everyday dish in her mind.  But to me, a new delight had been discovered!  She shared her recipe with me which is really a recipe for potato kugel with vegetables substituting some of the potatoes.  I adapted her recipe to use sweet potatoes in place of white potatoes, but I kept the basic structure of her recipe the same.  I also did a little research on kugel and found that savory is not the traditional vibe for kugel.  Most kugels seem to be made with noodles and fruit.  I’m not sure how I feel about that.  I may have to taste a noodle kugel before I try making it myself.

Savory Vegetable Kugel

  • 5 small sweet potatoes (Usually, sweet potatoes are huge, in that case I’d use 2-3)
  • 1 large yellow onion
  • 3 cloves garlic (More, more, more would be fine with me)
  • 3 carrots
  • 1 large parsnip
  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 yellow squash
  • 1 Tb sea salt
  • 1 Tb white pepper
  • several twists of freshly ground black pepper
  • scant 1/2 c. olive oil
  • 5 eggs

Preheat oven to 400F

Grate sweet potatoes, onions, garlic and all veggies.  (I do not have a grating attachment for my food processor so I did this part by hand using the torture device pictured below.  Save yourself and use the food processor!)  Try to remove as much liquid from the grated vegetables as you can.  I didn’t get much liquid out of mine.   But this step is mentioned in nearly every other potato/veggie kugel recipe I could find, including my Cousin’s.  So, I’m guessing it is pretty important.

Heat a small amount of oil in a 9X13 inch glass dish in the hot oven.  (I inadvertently skipped this part and I wish I hadn’t because the bottom was not as lovely and crispy as I had remembered.)  Combine all ingredients gently by hand.  You will need a huge bowl or divide the mixing into two big bowls as I did.  The volume of the sweet potato and veggie mixture will condense as the eggs and oil are incorporated.

Put everything into the hot pan and bake about 1 hour until brown and crispy.

This dish is great for freezing and reheating.  I actually didn’t use the 9X13 baking dish.  Instead, I used two smaller glass baking dishes.  This allowed me to slightly reduce the baking time.  I’ve even seen recipes for mini-kugels baked in muffin tins…Heaven!  I’ll let you know when I try it.

Leave a Reply

