Cookie Experiment 1: Carob Chip Cookies with Agave Nectar

Today marks ClevelandWhiteout’s first baking experiment. I’ve never been much of a baker. Before I began my Whiteout adventure most of my baking started with a box. Don’t get me wrong. I attempted occasional feats of baking from scratch with moderate success. So I felt confident that with the right recipe I could come up with some healthy and yummy cookies to share with friends at our weekly potluck. At first I wanted to make these cookies. I will make them, hopefully for Cookie Experiment 2, but not today. Some of tonight’s dinner companions are not fans of coconut so I had to come up with another dessert that would utilize a healthy and natural sweetener. Agave nectar is my newest Whiteout discovery. I learned about agave nectar from my favorite healthy cooking website 101 Cookbooks. I highly recommend you take a look at Ms. Swanson’s site, especially the section titled “Build a Natural Foods Pantry”. There is a wealth of information about healthy and natural sweeteners, fats, grains and great foods in general. In fact, Swanson’s cookbook, Super Natural Cooking is on my wish list. I’ll be sure to post a review here when I get my hands on it.

Carob Chip Cookie Dough

Carob Chip Cookie Dough

After some serious hunting I found this recipe for Agave Sweetened Chocolate Chip Cookies. As you can see below, I tweaked the recipe a bit. I made two versions, one for me and one for those who may prefer more of a semi-Whiteout dessert. The results were not bad. The fully Whiteout cookies were a bit more cakey than I would have preferred but I thought they tasted great. (Any suggestions for how to get the Carob cookies more chewy and less cakey would be greatly appreciated.) The semi-Whiteout cookies were gooey and moist and exactly what chocolate chip cookies should be. To me they tasted overly sweet. I guess that is because I’m now accustomed to foods made without refined sugar thus resulting in a more subtle sweetness. My dinner pals, and more importantly their children, said that the semi-Whiteout cookies were great. No one could even tell that I used whole grain flours in place of refined white flour.

carob chip cookie dough

Carob Chip Cookies with Agave Nectar

  • 1 1/2 c. pure agave nectar (or one 11.75oz. bottle)
  • 1 stick butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 c. each whole wheat pastry flour & spelt flour (3 c. total)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp fine grain sea salt
  • 1 package unsweetened carob chips (10-12 oz. or about 2 c.)
Carob Chip Cookies made with agave nectar and whole grain flour

Carob Chip Cookies with agave nectar and whole grain flour

Whole Grain Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 1 stick butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 c. each whole wheat pastry flour & spelt flour (3 c. total)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp fine grain sea salt
  • 1 package semi sweet or dark chocolate chips (10-12 oz. or about 2 c.)

Preheat oven to 375F. Using a mixer, combine butter and agave nectar (or sugar) in a large mixing bowl. Mix in vanilla and eggs, one at a time. Mix in all dry ingredients gradually. Finally mix in carob chips (or chocolate chips). Spoon onto cookie sheets and bake 8-10 minutes. Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookies with whole grain flour

Chocolate Chip Cookies with whole grain flour

3 responses

  1. I loved the whiteout cookies, though I think they tasted more like a healthy hiker’s snack. Cakey, carby, and just a little sweet. Maybe if you called them whiteout energy bars, they would seem right? It’s all in the name.

  2. Your cookies look amazing.

    I haven’t baked with agave nectar a whole lot but I know it does change the texture of things a bit, since it is a liquid (like honey) vs. a powdery solid (like standard white sugar). If you’d subbed another sweetener, like honey or maple syrup, in the recipe, the texture would have also been different than what you are used to with old-school chocolate chip cookies.

    Have you experimented with stevia at all? If you’re looking to get a less cake-like texture to your cookies it might be the way to go, although it can be hella expensive!

  3. Dearest Whiteout,
    I don’t think your suppose to use baking powder, just baking soda. I am experimenting tonight, I’m making the CCC with agave and coconut sugar and carob chips and whole wheat flour, I’ll let you know the results. That is if you still monitor this page, I just noticed the last reply shown was 5 years ago in ’09.

Leave a Reply

