Summer Chili

I believe that Chili is an important part of one’s culinary repertoire. Just about everyone has their own special recipe or method when it comes to chili. My boyfriend and I have an on going dispute about exactly who came up with the idea to add canned pumpkin to our winter chili recipe. He claims the pumpkin was his brilliant idea whereas I know that I am the genius behind this one.
I’m not going to share our usual chili recipe now. I’ll save that for a cold, gray Cleveland winter’s day. Today I want to share our lighter, fresher version, Summer Chili. The beauty of all chili recipes is that the ingredients are flexible. The types of peppers or beans can vary depending on what is most handy in the cupboard or garden. I doubt that I’ve ever made the same chili twice and all measurements are approximate.

Summer Chili

Summer Chili

  • 3 large tomatoes, chopped (or 6-8 plum tomatoes)
  • 1 each red and green bell peppers, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 small yellow onion, minced
  • assorted hot, medium, mild peppers, minced (I used some serrano, jalapa, jalapeno and hungarian wax peppers)
  • 1/2 cup fresh, frozen or roasted corn
  • 1 can each kidney, navy, and black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3 sprigs thyme (approx. 3″ in length added whole and removed after cooking)
  • 1 tsp cumin (I love cumin so I double this)
  • 1 tsp white pepper
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • sea salt to taste

Because it is summer I don’t want to spend too much time in front of a hot stove. This is not a simmer-all- afternoon-chili like my winter version. Toss in the onion with a little splash of olive oil and as soon as the onions begin to soften throw everything else in the pot at once. When it is piping hot, turn the heat off. Allow to cool slightly and it is ready to eat. This would be delicious topped with a few slices of fresh avocado.

Leave a Reply

