Quick Pickles

I’m beginning to think that I bought too many cucumbers!  I came up with this recipe after doing a little research on how to “quick pickle” (quickle?).  I’m looking forward to a bountiful harvest from my garden this summer.  I want to try my hand at pickling peppers as well as cukes.  Quick pickling makes light tasting crisp pickle slices.

Next time I will do a few things differently.  First I’ll use a crinkle cutter to slice the cukes.  Also, I should have left the slices round and made them a bit thicker.

Quick Pickles

Quick Pickles

  • 1/4 c. tarragon vinegar
  • 1/4 c. cider vinegar
  • 1/8 tsp. ground mustard
  • dash of  ground clove or 2-4 whole cloves
  • 1 tsp. sea salt (use more if you prefer very salty pickles)
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 teaspoon dried dill
  • 1 large cucumber, cut into 1/4 – 1/2 slices

Heat small saucepan over high heat. Add vinegar, mustard, salt, and garlic to the pan and cook until it begins to simmer. Toss the dill and cucumbers together in a mixing bowl. Pour the hot liquid over the cucumbers and give it a few good tosses. Allow to cool to room temperature and chill in the refrigerator overnight in a 1 gallon zip bag.

One response

Leave a Reply

